Changing My Style | Everyday May

Tomorrow, I’m going on a shopping trip and I’m a little nervous about how it’s going to go. You see, I’m trying really hard to change up my style, and wear something a bit different. I no longer feel pretty in what I usually wear, so it’s time I grit my teeth and brave the changing rooms to try on some new things.

I’m doing a little experiment with my lifestyle, where I am trying to live a “capsule” life. For me, this means having and buying less possessions. I’m enjoying having memories or photos and travelling rather than owning material things, and wanted to try and let go of some of the items I have been hoarding over the last few years. It’s sort of a way for me to let go of my past and start a fresh. I feel like at the moment, I really need it.

gery edit 2
Photo from my Long Cardigans blog post. I have always been a fan of cosy and comfy clothes, especially woollen and slouchy pieces.

It all began with my wardrobe, which I cleared out a couple of weeks ago. I got rid of about 60% of my wardrobe, including the contents of my drawers, and I’m still continuing to whittle it down. I threw away anything that was unflattering, showed my weight, made me unhappy and didn’t fit right. At the end of the day, why wear something that doesn’t make you feel beautiful? I’ve had enough of feeling insecure about the way I look, fed up of being jealous of the other girls. There’s no point keeping stuff that’s making me unhappy – it’s not healthy for me, and I’m never going to make myself feel beautiful.

EDIT 2
Photo taken from my Leather Jacket Look blog post. I have always loved wearing tube skirts and tights in the winter, but never dare to wear skirts in the summer. I would LOVE to change this.

So tomorrow, I’m going to make an effort to try on things I wouldn’t normally pick out, not be afraid to treat myself, try and create a new, um, “me”. Perhaps it’s some sort of identity crisis, or perhaps it’s something that happens in your life when you feel like things are falling apart, I don’t know I’m just embracing my motivation for it. I wrote a few days ago about my goals for June and I think this is very much going to be tied into that; I think a sort of reinvention of my appearance is going to help me achieve so much more in my life. I need to stop feeling sorry for myself and start being productive. I think being happy and confident with how you look and feel is a step towards success.

I’m sure I’ll be writing a haul post about all the things I buy tomorrow, but until then, let’s see if I can drag myself around H&M and into the changing rooms. Let’s see if I can manage the trauma of changing my style.

EDIT 3
Photo taken from my Pink Collared Faux Fur Coat post. Pieces like this make me feel amazing. Tomorrow is going to be all about finding more items like this to increase my confidence and self-esteem. That’s quite a challenge. 

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Have you ever changed up your style? Are you trying to at the moment? What do you wear to make you feel confident?

I’d love to hear about your experiences in the comments!

3 thoughts on “Changing My Style | Everyday May

Leave a Reply

