Feeling The Pressure | Everyday May

I’ve arrived at a point in my life, where I feel as though I should really start to knuckle down and work out what I want to do with my time. I think I should know by now what career path I want to go down, and it’s really worrying me that I am completely unsure. Most of my friends have gone to university and started their new lives there, enjoying their courses and new friendship groups. Other friends are in full-time employment or interesting apprenticeships, and some are even expecting their first child. It appears that everyone knows what their life holds for them in the next few years.

I’ve always been of the mindset that you will eventually find your way, that things will just fall into place. But recently I have noticed people have a really negative attitude towards me and my opinion. It’s isolating and lonely – trapped in your own head, thinking you are stupid because everyone disagrees or doesn’t understand. It’s scary. I’m worried and stressed that I simply won’t find my way.pressure 1I think most of the pressure is just coming from myself. I think I’m overthinking and worrying more about what everyone else is doing rather than myself. I worry that I will let people down, worry that people will look down on me. I’ll admit it, I’m a people pleaser. I don’t want to be, I don’t mean to be. It hasn’t got me anywhere, in fact I think it has cased more problems in my life than not. I’m just trying to find that balance between what will benefit me, and what will make everyone proud of me.

I’m quite an alone person, I don’t really tell anyone what’s up until it’s too late. Recently, people have started to notice that something isn’t quite right. I never know how to explain myself when they ask. The most simple explanation of what’s wrong is that I’m scared nothing will come of my life. It’s a depressing, deep thought, but it’s really weighing me down.

I just want to find my way, and at the moment, it’s proving to be difficult.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Are you struggling with your career choices?

I’d love to have a chit-chat about it in the comments!

Leave a Reply

