My Relationship With Exercise | Everyday May

I know that this is a sensitive topic for a lot of people, but it’s been on my mind a lot recently, and I felt like I really wanted to share my experiences and feelings. It’s mostly for myself, to get the thoughts off my chest if that makes sense. So, here goes:

“I feel like I’m letting myself down by not going”

Okay, I did join the gym probably about 2 years ago now with a friend. We were both super motivated when we started and went to loads of different classes together and had a workout regime made for us which we did stick to for a little while. We felt like proper gym sharks and enjoyed going together to see each other outside of Sixth Form. The problem was, we joined right in the middle of A-Levels, hoping that the exercise would make us feel more motivated and awake.

Bad idea.

We were soon drowning in work because we both studied art, photography and English Language – coursework heavy subjects. Our schedules clashed so we couldn’t go to workout classes together anymore, and I would work after school almost everyday so wouldn’t go to the gym until 9 at night. Soon enough we both decided that the gym would have to wait until after studies. I’ve been out of school for almost a year now and still haven’t returned. I’m starting to think about returning to the gym, but it costs so much and some weeks its so hard to fit it all in. I feel like I’m letting myself down by not going, but sometimes I don’t want to exercise around other people. It’s hard to get motivated about something when there are more negatives than positives.

a.jpg

“I love using the treadmill”

I love using a treadmill. I’m so lucky now because Xavier has one in his garage, so some mornings I’ll get up before him and have a 45 minute walk or a 30 minute jog. It’s a good way for me to catch up on YouTube or reading whilst exercising. I like the treadmill because the exercise doesn’t have to be too intense, and you can choose how fast you want to go and the incline. It’s still good cardio making your body work hard, but it’s simple exercise.

Whilst I love the treadmill with all its stats, I truly adore being outside in the countryside. I’m extremely fortunate with where I live that I have loads of walks, woods and beautiful countryside all around me. Plus I have my super cute dog to explore it all with. As much as it’s amazing, it is really hard to find the time to get to the places and actually do the walk. Sometimes we get so caught up in life and work, we don’t have time to do the things we love.

“It’s so easy to have a chocolate bar and think that it has put the world to rights”

I currently work in customer service, and being a very nervous person, I can find it really challenging at some times. If a customer is particularly unnecessarily rude to me, sometimes I find it really hard to brush it off. My way of dealing with the stresses of work is eating. It’s so easy to have a chocolate bar and think that is has put the world to rights. Had a really crap shift? McDonalds is almost always the answer. I really wish I wasn’t this way, because it would end at least 3 of my main life problems, but unfortunately my brain is currently programmed into thinking that if I eat, I am better.

b.jpg

“I put too much pressure on myself”

In recent months, I have gained a fair amount of weight. I am at the point where I am trying to get myself motivated enough to actually go out and lose that weight. But exercise is so hard for me. I think the main thing is finding the time to do it. I think I’m putting too much pressure on myself to get quick results with little effort. We all know weight loss is hard, right?

If I was to look at my life on assessment, all I need to do is take a step back and plan my time. I want just 3 hours a week to go out on a couple walks or runs. It’s not a lot, I mean that easy time I can free up. I don’t know why I’m not making that time.

It’s time I do.

“We only get one body”

It’s important to remember to put your health first, and I need to make some conscience decisions on how I can improve mine. I need to eat better and get active. It doesn’t take much, just a little bit of motivation.

You only get one body, and it’s essential that we look after it, and take the time to do so.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Thanks for reading.

 

Leave a Reply

