EMPTIES: April 2017 | Everyday May

I did an Empties post last month, and people seemed to really enjoy it! I was completely overwhelmed by the response, so I thought that I had better do another one:)

I have this really bad habit of going out and buying loads of new beauty products that I don’t need because I already have a tonne of back home. So I’m trying this new thing called “logic” and trying to use up the products I currently have, before going out and buying loads more. It’s going quite well at the moment, and my beauty draw is slowly emptying! It’s also a great opportunity for me to thoroughly try out new products and get a better idea what works for me and what doesn’t. Plus, I’m saving a tonne of money – win, win!

So, let’s get straight into this month’s trash, wooo!

GARNIER MICELLAR WATER

a IMG_5105I finished up 3 bottles of this product in April. For some reason, I had all 3 bottles on the go at once, so I just used one at a time until they ran out. As you can clearly see, I love this stuff – mostly because it doesn’t sting my skin when I use it with a cotton pad to take off my make up. I have eczema, so my skin, especially my face, can get very dry and delicate, and I find this micellar water to be kind to skin, but still a powerful make-up/dirt remover.a IMG_5095My favourite is the Garnier SkinActive Micellar Cleansing Water, because it is specifically designed for “oily skin prone to imperfections”, and I genuinely think it’s helping prevent spots and blemishes. I feel as though my skin, particularly my forehead, has improved since using this product. It really does get all your make-up off and you don’t even have to rinse your face afterwards which is mega. I’d recommend it over and over for people who want a simple make-up removal routine, as all you need is this and some cotton pads.

FRENCH CONNECTION BODY SPRAY

a IMG_5129I’ve finished up a couple of perfumes this month, but this one is by far my favourite. I was given it in a little gift set at Christmas, and I am absolutely in love with the scent. Okay, I’m going to be really crap at describing the smell to you, but apparently it’s supposed to smell of vanilla, and be oriental and floral. I’m really annoyed because the only place I can find it to by again is eBay, which isn’t my favourite site in the world. Perhaps they only stock in for Christmas idk. Anyway, point is – it smells good and I wanna buy loads more of it.

SOAP AND GLORY ORANGEASM BODY WASH

a IMG_5111First of, I love the name of this product. Secondly, it smells SO good. As the name suggests, it’s very much orange-y, but the strong smell is quite a pleasant wake-me-up in the morning. It’s a super zesty yet delicate body wash, in a really handy pump bottle – no fiddling around with caps; always a plus. It’s supposed to be moisture boosting, which I would agree with to some extent, but to be honest the best part about this product is the smell. It’s quite a thin consistency, and you need a quite a few pumps to clean your whole body, but I mean whatever right? I smell like an orange.

NEXT VELVET BLOOM EAU DE PARFUM

a IMG_5121I’m not a massive fan of expensive perfumes. I much prefer looking for cheaper, alternative brands that smell just as good. Next do amazing perfumes, and have done for a long time. The best time to snatch these up is in the sale when they go half price – I always stock up with about 4 different scents. Although Velvet bloom is no longer listed online, there are tonnes of other beautiful fragrances to choose from. Floral Bloom, I assume, will be a much more feminine, floral fragrance alternative to Velvet Bloom. I love this one because it’s quite fresh, but still masculine. Also, I’m a sucker for packaging and the bottle is too cute.

Another one of my all time favourites is Just Pink, another floral fragrance, but this one is much softer and fresher. I would recommend Next for affordable fragrances over and over.

BARRY M NAIL PAINTS

a IMG_5137I have too many nail polishes for my own good. It’s a really stupid obsession for someone with really short nails, but I suppose it fuels my dream of having long nails. Anyway, I went through (and still am) a phase of wearing lots of light, nude shades on my nails. I found Barry M nail “paints” to be the best for price, durability and colour. Now, I used these “empties” colours to absolute death, so much so that they are starting to turn into this weird paste. I know there’s probably some Pinterest hack that will fix all of my nail polish struggles, but I’ve had these so long that I think it’s time to throw out the gunk and find some new favourites in my embarrassingly large box of nail polishes.

Sidenote: if you’re an impatient person like me and hate waiting for your nails to dry, try the Barry M Speedy Quick Dry range (pictured left). This colour is called Pit Stop, and it’s awesome. This link will show you all the colours in the range.

Sidenote pt.2: if you like having shiny nails, try the Barry M Gelly range (pictured right). The finish is like a proper gel manicure, and make you nails look really shiny and healthy. This colour is called Almond, and it’s my second bottle of the stuff. This link will show you all the colours in the range.

 

Thanks for reading about my trash!

I hope you enjoyed my little discussions about these products.

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥

Do you have any favourite products you’ve being using this month?

I’d love to know in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

