EMPTIES: March 2017

MARCH

I love watching this type of content on YouTube so I thought I’d give it a go for myself in blog form. For those of you who don’t know, an “Empties Review” is probably the best analysis a product can get, because it happens when the product has been completely used up or tossed after consistent usage. It sounds really weird talking about empty products or “trash”, but I find it quite useful to see what someone feels about a product after using it for a long time before I go and buy it myself. I don’t know, I just felt like writing about some products and thought I’d give it a try.

Batiste Dry Shampoo

IMG_3797.JPG

To be honest, Batiste has been a staple for me for many years now. Perfect for those mornings when you’re running late and don’t have time to wash your hair, to keeping in your handbag for an instant refresh. I’ve included these two products in my empties this month because they are my two favourite scents from the Batiste collection that I have tried so far: fresh and oriental. I particularly love oriental – how cute is that packaging?! I find that batiste works really well to refresh and volumise your hair, even when your hair is in a proper pants state. It also blends into your hair really well, which is great for me as I’m a dark brunette, and bright white patches on my hair would not be cute. I think I will love Batiste for ever and ever. ❤

Original Source Shower Gel

IMG_3809

I discovered Original Source as a brand when it went on promotion at Tesco. Since that moment, I have been in love with it. This is my favourite product of theirs that I have used to date: the vanilla and raspberry shower gel. Lucky for me, it also comes in a hand soap too. I find this product to be kind to skin and doesn’t dry it out, which is quite hard to come by for someone with eczema. The scent is also gorgeous and really refreshing. It is nourishing, and includes other bonuses such as being vegan, having an 100% natural fragrance, and packaged in a recycled bottle. Awesome – would recommend this product over and over.

Sally Hansen Maximum Growth Nail Polish

IMG_3821.JPG

Okay, I’m a nail biter. Seriously, there is nothing I want more in this world than to have lovely, pretty, long nails – I swear. But I just can’t do it. For many years I have tried to fight this battle, and every year I have failed. However, during my good periods I use this Sally Hansen product, which I have found to enhance the growth and the strength of my nails with consistent use. I usually apply it as a base coat, and then reapply on the top of the colour coat ever other day. It definitely stops my nails from breaking as much, as well as encourages them to grow and gives them a healthy shine. It might all be in my head, but if that’s the case, the mind games are working for me.

Pure Nail Polish Remover Pads

Keeping along the theme of nail products, I purchased these nail polish remover pads by Pure to take travelling. If I’m honest, I was a bit underwhelmed. Yes, they did the job and got the polish off, however it does take a LOT of pads, in some cases one or two per nail – seems pretty excessive,right? Furthermore, the pad leaves behind this weird sticky residue that I’m not okay with. They also dry out really quickly. It works, but not for me.

Here are some pictures of the left over remover pads which had dried out:

IMG_3827.JPGIMG_3830.JPG

Collection Bronze Glow Mosaic Bronzer

I love me a good bronzer, and boy this is good. I have already repurchased it. What’s nice about this bronzer is that: A. it’s £2.99, and B. it has highlighting pigments in it; so it’s basically a two-in-one job. It’s very warm toned and blends well, and makes you look lovely and sun-kissed, without looking orange. Also, the price is sweet for such a good product that wears so well. It stays on all day with my setting powder, I use Rimmel Clear Complexion Clarifying Powder, and this combination works well enough for my needs.

Here’s some photos of my newer bronzer, as my old one smashed to pieces *cries*:

IMG_3881.JPGIMG_3887.JPG

Anyway, I know this is a bit of a weird post, but I thought I’d try it out and write about something a little different. Hope you enjoyed:)

 

 

Leave a Reply

